• Upcoming classes

  • 2022-2023 Idea Book and Catalogue

  • Occasion 2023 Mini-Catalogue

  • Sale-a-Bration FREE items

Relaxing on the beach…

I just came back from a nice family camping trip to Wasaga Beach ! No internet, TV or even stamping!!! We had a great relaxing time! Now, to stay on the “beach” theme, I would like to share with you this card I made for my dad’s birthday. I used the beautiful stamp set “Wetlands“, combined with the “Faux Tear” technique.

Wetlands - Julie Olivier

To achieve a “faux tear” look, you need a piece of scrap paper that you tear and use as a mask to sponge this “rough edge”.

Here’s a great tip: Use the 2-Way glue pen to make your own “sticky note”. If you put some glue on the torn edge and let it dry first, it will still be sticky but you will be able to remove it after, just like a sticky note. So your torn paper will stay put as you sponge over it and it will make your life much easier!!!

On my card, I used Crumb Cake, Baked Brown Sugar and Soft Suede for the sand and Pool Party, Coastal Cabana and Lost Lagoon for the sky. The goose was stamped on a different piece of Whisper White card stock and cut around. I colored it using the Stampin’ Markers Sahara Sand, Crumb Cake, Soft Suede and Basic Black. I used the White Signo gel pen to add some white on my little birds in the background.

Material:

Stamp set: Wetlands, Une pensée pour ta fête (French version of Remembering Your Birthday)

CS and paper: Whisper White, Crumb Cake and Island Indigo

Ink:  Black Memento ink, Crumb Cake, Baked Brown Sugar, Soft Suede, Pool Party, Coastal Cabana, Lost Lagoon; Stampin’ Markers: Sahara Sand, Crumb Cake, Soft Suede and Basic Black. White uni-ball Signo Gel Pen

Other: 2-Way glue pen, Sponge Daubers

Leave a comment