Artisan Award Entry #5: Pop-up Pinwheel card

Welcome to Day 5!  Today’s card was probably the most complicated of the five cards I made for the Artisan Award Contest.  It’s a pop-up card or a 2-steps card.  I just made my own template (basically trial and error).  I wanted that the pinwheels stand-up when you open the card and that was a real challenge!  Some were falling down, so I ended up putting little paper brackets at the back so they couldn’t fall.  I wished I had taken some pictures from the side so you could see better how it’s made, but I guess I didn’t think about it… Since I don’t have the card anymore, it’s now too late. The challenge was that nothing sitck out the card when it’s closed.  (Seem kind of obvious, but when you fold the card, everything shift up, so it’s trickier than you think!)

I used the Sizzlit Pinwheel die (from last year mini-catalogue) and make 6 of them.  I used different buttons and brads to attach them in the center.   The super colorful Designer Paper ” Sunshine & Sprinkles” (now retired) inspired me this card.

pinwheel

Here’s the inside: A real surprise when you open the card!!!

pinwheel inside

close-up details:

pinwheel close-up

Material:

Make a Cake, Word Play, You’re Amazing, Pretty Petites  stamp sets;

Whisper White, Pacific Point, Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight, Basic Gray, Old Olive Card Stock; Sunshine & Sprinkles, Polka Dot Parade Designer Series Paper; Bright Collection Designer Series Paper Stack;

Basic Gray, Pacific Blue, Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight Classic Stampin’ Pads; Pacific Blue, Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight, Old Olive Stampin’ Write Markers;

Multipurpose Adhesive Sheet, Dazzling Diamonds Stampin Glitter;

Big Shot, Oval Collection Framelits Dies, Pinwheel Sizzlits S Die, Apothecary Accents Framelits Dies, Hearts a Flutter Framelits Dies; 1-3/4” Circle Punch, Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack, Petite Curly Label Punch;

Vintage Faceted Designer Button, Brights Designer button;  3/8” Designer Printed Brads; 3/16” Neutral and Brights brads, 1/8” Mini brads, Rhinestone Basic Jewels; Paper- Piercing Tool and Piercing Mat, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Trimmer, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Glue dots, Multipurpose Liquid Glue, Snail adhesive.

2 Responses

  1. I love your pop up card , do you have direction for it? Thanks

    • Hi Frederica, I don’t have any instructions unfortunately. I made this card more than a year and a half ago. It was really one of a kind, designed for the Artisan Award Contest.
      Julie

Leave a Reply

