Faux Linen Technique

Last night, at our team meeting, I showed a pretty cool technique: Faux Linen.

So  here’s the card I made and I will give you the instructions below.

Serene Silhouette Faux linen

1. Start with a 3″ by 4-1/4″ rectangle of Glossy White cardstock.

2. Sponge all over with More Mustard ink.  (You could also use the brayer.) Let dry a few minutes.

3. Using the sandblock, start sending your cardstock, going in only one direction (horizontally), then send it in the other direction (vertically). This creates fine white “scratched” lines.

4. Using the stamp for “By the Tides” stamp set (the words one), stamp on your “scratched” paper with More Mustard ink. (I wanted my “words” not too dark, so I stamped on a piece of scrap paper frist and then stamped on my card.)

5. Stamp your flower image with Black StazOn ink. (from Serene Silhouette stamp set).

Here’s a close-up:

Serene Silhouette faux linen close-up

Material:

Stamp set: By the Tides, Serene Silhouette

CS and paper: Ivory Natural, Basic Black, Gloosy White cardstock

Ink: More Mustard, Black StazOn

Tools: Sanding block,

Accessories: Antique Brad, 5/8″ Crochet trim

Here’s another card I made with a similar technique. The only difference is that I started with the White Glossy card stock, stamped the Music notes (in black) and sanded it. Then I sponged with More Mustard and Crumb Cake ink. So for this one, the color goes in the “scratched” lines, where as in the first one, the scratched lines become white. I used the “Collage Curios” stamp set to stamp in the background in More Mustard. I ran the bottle cap through the Big Shot to flatten it.  I stamped the Eiffel Tower (also from Collage Curios) on Vanilla cardstock and used the 1″ Circle punch to cut it. On the card base, I used the Early Espresso Core’dination card stock (from the Holiday mini-catalogue) and also sanded it. I think it goes really well with the look of the card!

Curios Collage faux linen

curios collage close-up

Material:

Stamp set: Collage Curios, Music Notes Wheel, Word Play

CS and paper: Early Espresso, Early Espresso Core’dination cardstock, Glossy White cardstock, Very Vanilla,, Basic Black

Ink: More Mustard, Crumb Cake, Black StazOn

Tools: Sand block, Big Shot, 1″ Circle punch

Accessories: Crochet Trim, Bottle cap

 

One Response

  1. […] Party and More Mustard ink and my sponge! (This technique is called “Faux Linen”. Check this post if you want to learn more about it!)  I stamped images from The Open Sea set and distressed them by […]

Leave a Reply

