Penguin Name Card for the Holiday Table

I made this cute penguin as a “name card” for each person for my Holiday Table.  It can stand up, holding a candy cane or lay flat as a card.  That’s the idea: when guests will arrive, all the little penguins will be standing up at each place around the table, holding a little treat… After everyone sit, they can take the penguin and lay it flat as it becomes a Chirstmas card with a little personal note for everyone inside!

Standing up:

pingouin debout

Laying flat:

pingouin flat

To make the body, I used the Top Note Bigz die, in Whisper White, over a Basic Black card stock.  I loved the new Mittens punch, so I really wanted to use it!!

To cut the hat and the wings, I used the Ornaments framelits collection. (See picture below.) When I attached the “wings”, I only glue them at the top, so that you can lift them and insert the candy cane.  (The mittens are glued on the wings themself but not on the “body”. The mittens are attached to the Decorative Label the same way, and not to the body.)

ornaments tuque

I used the Simply Scored Scoring tool to mark around my hat and for the mitten cuff. It makes it more “real”…

IMG_9550

Now, to make it stand, I used an “easel card” model.  I cut a sheet of Bashful Blue card stock in half lengthwise (4-1/4″ x 11″). Then I scored it at 2-3/4″ and 5-1/2″.

You want to adhere the “penguin” on the right hand side of the card only, so that you can flip it to make it stand up:

pingouin cote

Material:

Stamp set: Voeux Mignons

Ink: Real Red, Real Red Stampin’ marker

CS and paper: Basic Black, Whisper White, Gumball Green, Real Red, Pumpkin Pie, Bashful Blue

Tools: Big Shot and Holiday Ornaments Framelits die, Top Note Bigz die, Simply Scored Scoring Tool, Decorative Label punch, Modern Label punch, 3/4″ Circle punch, 1/2″ Circle punch, Large Oval punch, Owl builder punch, Boho Blossom punch, Mitten builder punch

One Response

  1. He is stinkin’ CUTE!!!!

Leave a Reply

