Autumn Accents: 2-layer Thank You Card

I just received the new Autumn Accent Bigz die and I was so excited to try it! I wanted to make a truly “Autumn” card, that would be perfect for Thanksgiving.  Even since I was a little girl, I always loved the changing color leaves and I would pick the nicest ones and put them to dry in the dictionnary. (Yes, there’s still one or two laying there in that big book!)  Today, I wanted to create my own maple leaf, one that wouldn’t fade with time… I think it turned out pretty good.  Let me know if you like it!

This is the new Autumn Accent Bigz die (#127812):

This card is also a 2 layer card, so it’s perfect for this month’s SoShelli Creative Challenge!!!  The card base is Natural Ivory and I sponged leaves all over in Lucky Limeade, Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Pumpkin Pie, Real Red, Daffodil Delight and Calypso Coral.  A real symphony of colors!!!  I also used the Color Spritzer tool with Soft Suede and Pumpkin Pie Stampin’ markers to add some spatters.  I heat embossed “Thanks a million” in Gold embossing powder to make it “pop” even more.

To make the maple leaf, I started with Daffodil Delight card stock, cut with the Autumn Accent Bigz die.  I used the scoring tool and the Stamping Pierce mat to create the veins. I sponged the borders in Soft Suede and the inside with Lucky Limeade, Old Olive, Pumpkin Pie and Real Red.  Then, I used the Color Sprintzer tool with Soft Suede Stampin’ marker. (The color Spritzer tool adds small ink spatters.)  To finish, I sprayed my leaf with a mix of rubbing alcohol and shimmer paint. It makes it really shiny (not that much on the picture though…) I crumbled the leaf and let it dry a few minutes.  I finished the card with a Scallop Tulle ribbon and a Baker’s Twine bow.  Note that I made the stem a bit longer by adding a little piece of Daffodil Delight card stock also sponged. The bow on top hides where the two parts meet.

Stamp set: Word Play (#120308W or 120651 C)

CS and paper: Natural Ivory and Daffodil Delight

Ink: Lucky Limeade, Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Pumpkin Pie, Real Red, Daffodil Delight and Calypso Coral, Old Olive, Soft Suede and Pumpkin Pie Stampin’ markers. Versamark and Gold embossing powder. Frost White shimmer paint.

Tools: Big Shot and Autumn Accent Bigz die, Color Spritzer tool, Scoring tool

Accessories: 3-1/2 in Scalloped Tulle ribbon, Baker’s Twine

2 Responses

  1. AWESOME!!! I’m adding the leaves to my wish list! My 94 yr old Mom would so-o-o love this card! You did a terrific job!

Leave a Reply

