2-layer card: The Open Sea

This month’s SoShelli Creative Challenge is to create a simple 2-layer card.  You think that’s easy?  Not as much as it seems!!!  Anyway, that’s the card I came up with.  I used The Open Sea stamp set to create this masculine card.  I  first stamped the sailboat in Soft Suede on Natural White paper and the others image with Crumb Cake ink. I then embossed the Oval frame around the sailboat using the Designer Frame folder.   Then I distressed and ripped the edges to make it look “old” and I sponged the borders and the oval frame with Crumb cake ink.  I also used the Color Spritzer tool with the Crumb cake and Soft Suede Stampin’ markers to create the spattered look.  This tool is so much fun!  I love it!!! It actually blows air on the tip of the markers and makes small dots of ink… Kind of using the old trick with the toothbrush but A LOT less messy!!!  For only $16.95, it’s really worth it!!! (Just email me of you are interested!!!)

I added a little bashful blue ink (with a sponge) in the sky between the boat and in the earth (in WORLD).  The greeting is from Word Play and is stamped in Early Espresso.  I finished the card with some Baker’s twine wrapped around.

Stamp set: The Open Sea, Word Play

CS and paper: Midnight Muse, Natural White

Ink: Soft Suede, Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, Bashful Blue, Soft Suede and Crumb Cake Stampin’ markers

Tools: Big Shot and Designer Frames embossing folder, Color Spritzer Tool.

Accessories: Baker’s Twine Espresso/Whisper white

Leave a Reply

