Artisan Award Non-winning Entry Day 10: Hummingbird Frame

That’s it!!!  This is the final project that I have to share with you for the Artisan Award contest.  I saved the one I thought was the best one for the end!  This one was a real “piece of art” if I can say so!!! I started with a Bashful Blue cardstock that I sponged with Lucky Limeade ink to make the background.  I drew the hummingbird based on a picture that I found at the library and than I searched for all the different designer papers that I could use to reproduce the colors of the hummingbird.  I ended up using quite a few! Here’s the complete list: Well Worn, Pocketful of Posies, Berry Blossom, Nursery Nest, Beyond Garden and Big Top Birthday Designer Series Paper. I even sponged on few to make some colors darker. I used a “modified Iris folding technique” that I came up with myself, to make the bird.

 

The flower was made with the Blossom Petal Builder punch with Poppy Parade card stock.  I scored each petal with the stylus. Then, I used the blender pen with White Craft ink and Cherry Cobbler Classic ink to make some lines on each petal to make the flower “come to life”! For the flower center, I used the Owl Builder punch to make the small circles that I colored with Early Espresso ink and Real Red ink, also with the blender pen.  Gluing all these small circles was not the easiest task!!!

Anyway, I was really happy with the result!!! Let me know what you think!!!

Material used:

Bashful Blue, Poppy Parade, Old Olive, Basic Black and Daffodil Delight card stock, Well Worn, Pocketful of Posies, Berry Blossom, Nursery Nest, Beyond Garden and Big Top Birthday Designer Series Paper;  Early Espresso, Lucky Limeade, Rich Razzleberry, Old Olive, Cherry Cobbler and Real red Classic Stampin’ pads; Whisper White craft ink pad,  Paper snip, Blossom Petals builder punch, Owl Builder punch, Blender pen, Dimensionals, sponge, sponge daubers, Stylus, Multipurpose liquid glue, Frame.

2 Responses

  1. wow! this is awesome!

  2. Thanks! I’m glad you like it!!!

Leave a Reply

