Valentine Window Shaker Frame

Do you think it’s too soon to talk about Valentine’s Day? Probably, but I wanted to participate in the December SoShelli Creative Challenge and the theme is Valentine! so here’s what I came up with!

I wanted to try to make a window shaker frame in a heart shape, but using the circle shaker frame from the Holiday mini-catalogue.  Well, I’m happy to say it worked well!!!  Here’s my card and a close-up of the “heart window shaker frame”.

I used the new Framelits die (Hearts collection) to cut the heart shape of my window.  These new dies will be available soon, in the new Occasions mini-catalogue, coming on January 4, 2012! They are absolutely great!!! These thin wafer-like dies let you see where you’re placing the design before you cut so it’s easy to use as a window or to cut a pre-stamped image. The Heart collection includes 6 different heart sizes.

To make the heart window frame, I used half a circle frame and shape it to form half the heart.  Then, repeat for the other side.  (You have to cut it in half or you won’t be able to shape it correctly.) I traced the heart shape with a pencil to know where to put the foam frame.  A little tip is to make sure you trace your heart a bit bigger so when you adhere the frame, you actually hide your pencil mark. (See picture below) I stamped “Key to my heart” from the stamp set “You’re a gem”(#122268) with versamark and embossed it in gold.  Make sure you do this before putting your window frame!!!  Then I added the champagne glass glitter (before removing the paper backing).  Peel off the paper backing and adhere the window sheet cut in the heart shape. Adhere the Real Red heart shape on top.

The two little keys were also stamped in versamark and embossed in gold.  They are from a set that you can get for free during the Sale-a-bration, which is coming soon on January 24! I used a glue dot to adhere them to the window sheet.

I used the First Edition Specialty paper (#121878) in the background and the Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder on Basic Black cardstock.  The 4EVER (also from the “You’re a gem” stamp set) is also embossed with gold on a piece of torn Very Vanilla cardstock.  I sponged it with Crumb Cake ink to age it.  I used a Real red satin ribbon and pleated it to add some dimension.  Then I sewed in place.  In the background, I stamped “love” (from “You’re a gem” stamp set) and “Be Mine” from Outlined Occasions (SAB #126014) coming soon!!!

Card Details

stamp set: You’re a gem (#122268), Elementary Elegance (SAB #125120), Outlined Occasions (SAB #126014)

ink: Versamark, Basic Black, Crumb cake

CS and Paper: Real red, Basic Black, Very Vanilla, First Edition Specialty paper (#121878)

Accessories: Champagne Glass Stampin’ Glitter (#120997), Gold Stampin’ Emboss powder (#109129), Shaker frames (#124155), Real Red 5/8″ Satin Ribbon, Window sheet (#114323)

Tools: Big shot, Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder (#120175), Framelits Dies Hearts Collection (#125599), heat tool (#100005)

Others: Snail adhesive, glue dots, red thread, scissors, sponge.

Leave a Reply

